RECIPE: Strawberry Chocolate Chip Loaf

The time has finally come! Not only is June birthday month, but it’s also the end of the school year (for all you high school kids), the official start to summer, and my personal favourite–strawberry season! The weather has been hotter than Hades in my neck of the woods, yet I still felt the need to bake a little something tasty. Hot ovens don’t do too well with small un-air-conditioned homes, but I just had to do it. I’ve got lots on my mind and baking is one of the best ways to avoid the chaos. I opted to make something that had a bit of freshness to it in honour of the summer so when I found some strawberries in my fridge, I knew that the result was inevitable.

I adapted this recipe from one that I found on Sweet Pea’s Kitchen. I had to compensate for my limited supply of strawberries, but the result was, in my opinion, perfect. From the original recipe, I omitted the cup of pureed strawberries and the three-quarters cup of sugar. Instead, I used three-quarters cup of freezer jam that I had on hand. The loaf isn’t too sweet but the bursts of chocolate and strawberries added a hint of deliciousness. It is moist on the inside and crunchy on the outside. This recipe could easily be adapted into muffins if you prefer. It is fairly straight forward, making it the perfect recipe for a breakfast treat or easy entertaining.

One thing that is important to remember is to not over-mix loaf or muffin batter. It’s a thick batter so it’s tempting to keep mixing it, but this causes uneven rising while it bakes and prevents the goods from being light and fluffy. Also, be sure to cool the loaf completely before cutting into it.

Easy enough, right? Just to quickly take care of some business: I want to apologize for my lack of activity on the blog recently. You know how summer is supposed to be a relaxed time of sipping sodas on the beach, playing pick-up games of baseball in the park, and falling asleep on your patio chair? Well, that’s all a lie. I have been a busy girl lately and I’m afraid that it won’t be slowing down any time soon. I want to apologize for not staying up-to-date on my thrifting and crafting. Be patient with me…I’ll get to it as soon as possible! Until then, eat some of this loaf. It will tie you over for a while.

So there’s one way to make use of all the delicious strawberries that are currently in season. What are some of your favourite ways to enjoy the delicious summer berries? Any suggestions of something I should try?

Happy first official day of Summer, everyone!

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “RECIPE: Strawberry Chocolate Chip Loaf

  1. [...] summer berry that can be used in a variety of baked goods. Remember how I shared my recipe for Strawberry-Chocolate Chip Loaf? I also pureed them with some mango and banana to make homemade popsicles. They are very refreshing [...]

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 226 other followers

