Sugar Cookies

If you are anything like me, you LOVE to decorate cookies. My favourite cookies to bake are sugar cookies because they give you the freedom to make them as beautiful (or as ugly) as you would like. I have decided to share my Best Ever Sugar Cookie recipe with you so you can bring out your inner-decorator!

The recipe is easy and almost fool proof. Here it is:

INGREDIENTS

  • 3 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1 cup of softened butter
  • 1 cup of white sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract

PROCESS

1. Combine the first three ingredients in a bowl. In a separate bowl, beat together the butter and the sugar until light and fluffy.

Tip: I used to hate using electric beaters because I thought my baking would be more “authentic” if I did it “the old fashioned way”. But I learned that using an electric beater actually makes your cookies fluffy and more desirable. So be a peach, use the beater.

2. Add the eggs and vanilla extract to the butter and sugar mixture. Beat until blended. Add the flour mixture and continue to beat until the dough is smooth.

3. Divide the dough into two balls and wrap each ball in plastic wrap. Place the balls in the fridge and refrigerate for at least an hour.

4. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Flour a surface and roll out sections of the dough with a rolling pin. I prefer my cookies to be fairly thin, but if they are too thin they will easily crack. Roll dough until it reaches a desirable thickness (1/4″ to 1/2″). Cut dough with cookie cutters.

5. Place cookies on a lightly greased cookie sheet and bake for 8-10 minutes, or until the edges are browned. Cool cookies completely before decorating.

ICING: Mix a little bit of softened butter, a little bit of milk, and a fair bit of icing sugar together in a bowl. Add icing sugar until it reaches a desired consistency. You can add food colouring to achieve your desired colours. Then decorate away, in whichever way you please!

Be creative and enjoy the process–hard work makes eating them that much more rewarding. One of my favourite things about sugar cookies is that they can be used for a variety of occasions. All you have to do is customize your shapes and your decorating!

Happy baking!

Check out my tumblr account Diary of a Cookie Cutter to see some of the many sugar cookie creations I have made!

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Sugar Cookies

  1. […] So why don’t you give some decorating a go? I would love to hear your input on these techniques and of course see some photos! For an easy-as-pie and virtually flawless recipe for sugar cookies can be found HERE! […]

  2. cwideman10 says:

    I have personally tried your cookies and they definitely are delicious!! Some are too pretty to eat but then the temptation is just too great to bear. Besides, you can always make more, right?

  3. amber!! what kind of tools do you use to flood your cookies? and how do you make the butter based icing that you used for the lions mane in the lion sugar cookies? you should totally do a decorating tips blog! youre creations are awesome! keep posting! if you ever open a cute little bakery let me know if you’re hiring :)

    • amberwideman says:

      Hey!! :) I usually just start by making a random icing that uses a little bit of butter, icing sugar, and milk. Then I just keep adding those until the consistency is good. Once it is fairly thick and holds its shape pretty well, I put it in a piping bag and go around the outline. Then, using the same icing, I add more milk so it is quite runny. Then I use a knife to fill in the area that I piped and since it is fairly runny it evens itself out so it is smooth. Then I just let it harden! For the lions icing I did the same thing but just used quite a bit more butter. The butter helps it harden really well and hold its shape better so its better to use more butter when you use an icing tip that has a shape to it. But thank you very much for all the compliments :) When I open my bakery I will definitely tell you because I would LOVE if you worked at it! :)

  4. amber!! what do you use to flood your cookies? and decorate? and how did you make the butter based icing for the lions mane in the lion sugar cookies? you should totally do a decorating tips blog entry! keep posting, your creations are awesome and inspiring :) if you ever open a cute little bakery, let me know if you’re hiring ;)

  5. […] Raspberry Cupcakes, Chocolate Chai Cupcakes, Chocolate Chip Cookies, Chunky Monkey Cupcakes, and sugar cookies. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. Tagged baked goods, baking, […]

  6. acrturman says:

    Thanks for sharing your recipe, Amber! Havn’t eaten any yet…but the dough was tasty. I’m also not very good at getting the right ratio of butter to icing sugar to milk for the icing. Definitely too runny…

  7. Susan R. says:

    Ali’s cookies that she shared were amazingly tasty & beautiful yesterday. This recipe is a keeper. Thanks Amber.

What do you think?

