Classy and Delicious

I’m heading away for the weekend and probably won’t have reliable internet access (oh, the drama!), so I have decided to share a quick post before I go.

I baked and decorated these little sugar cookies last night. I had the opportunity to try a couple new techniques and products that I have been dying to try.

1. Hand-Painting: I used a brand new, clean paintbrush to give the flowers a “brushed” look. It was very easy to do and could be done in a quick fashion because it didn’t matter if they looked a bit messy. I really liked doing this.

2. Edible Dusting Powder: I bought a silver decorating powder from Michael’s to give my decorating a little shimmer! The package recommended that the powder be mixed with either clear vanilla, lemon juice, or vodka. Unfortunately, I was out of ALL three of those, so I just mixed it with water. I love the look it gave to the flowers but in terms of the product, I found it a bit frustrating. The water caused it to evaporate quickly (causing me to continuously re-mix) and I used quite a bit of powder to get it as evident as it is. It does give an awesome look though!

Regardless, I love the result of these. Classy and delicious…what more could you ask for!?

So why don’t you give some decorating a go? I would love to hear your input on these techniques and of course see some photos! An easy-as-pie and virtually flawless recipe for sugar cookies can be found HERE!

To see more images of my baking adventures, check out my tumblr baking blog: www.diaryofacookiecutter.tumblr.com

Blessings this weekend, friends!

Tagged , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Classy and Delicious

  1. cakes1986 says:

    These are beautiful. I love your blog and all your ideas!

    • amberwideman says:

      Thank you very much! I really appreciate your comment. I just started the blog in the new year so it has been quite the process to get it going. So it’s getting there. I appreciate your encouragement!

      Blessings!

  2. […] these cookies the sheen that they need (I posted about the new techniques I tried not too long ago. CLICK HERE to read that […]

  3. […] Raspberry Cupcakes, Chocolate Chai Cupcakes, Chocolate Chip Cookies, Chunky Monkey Cupcakes, and sugar cookies. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. Tagged baked goods, baking, […]

What do you think?

