Gooey Butter Tarts

After a long day at school, I got home and ripped through my kitchen cupboards, fridge, freezer, and pantry in search of a sweet treat. Much to my dismay, I couldn’t find anything that tickled my fancy. But luckily, I did find a few frozen tart shells and so I decided to make one of my favourite treats…

Butter tarts hold a special place in my heart. My grandmother used to make the most delicious butter tarts that were runny and so deliciously sweet. My grandmother passed away a couple of years ago (actually, just the other day was the anniversary of her death) but butter tarts always make me think of her amazing baking (maybe one day I will share her apple pie recipe–best apple pie EVER) and the beaming smile that occupied her face as she made all of her special treats. In celebration of the blessing she was in my life, this blog post is dedicated to her…

Dorothy Pearl Wideman.

Now let’s get to the goods. The following recipe comes straight from a classic church cookbook. Church cookbooks always have the best recipes because the elderly women submit authentic, traditional recipes for all sorts of things. This particular recipe is definitely a favourite.

INGREDIENTS

  • 12-15 tart shells, can be either homemade pie crust or pre-made frozen tart shells
  • 1 egg, slightly beaten
  • 1 cup of brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons of butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup of corn syrup
  • 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla
  • 1/8 teaspoon of nutmeg
  • Nuts and/or raisins, optional

PROCESS

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. If using pre-made frozen tart shells, line them up in their foil wrappers on a baking sheet. If you are making your own shells, spray your pans appropriately and prepare the shells. If using raisins and/or nuts, place the desired amount in the bottom of each tart shell.
  2. Combine the slightly beaten egg, brown sugar, butter, corn syrup, vanilla and nutmeg. Mix well.
  3. Fill each tart shell 2/3 full of the mixture.
  4. Bake the tarts for 12 to 15 minutes. Reduce the oven to 350 degrees and bake for an additional 5-10 minutes. Be sure to keep an eye on the tarts to ensure they do not burn. The extra time should allow the bottom of the tart pastry to bake appropriately.
  5. Cool tarts and enjoy slightly warm.

These delicious tarts are not quite as runny as my grandmother’s but they sure are delicious. They are significantly easy and quick to make, so it is a great recipe if you are suddenly craving a sweet treat or if your company is expected to come sooner than expected.

Enjoy your baking and make some memories!

It looks like Cookie Monster has got his eye on something delicious…

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Gooey Butter Tarts

  1. You had me at butter… butter tarts sound incredible, though I’ve never heard of them. I am jealous.

  2. mmetaylor says:

    Gramma’s butter tarts were always the best :)

  3. Lynn Todd says:

    How is it that you make all these delicious calorie laden desserts and still stay so slim? Do you ever actually eat the treats?

What do you think?

