Knitting 101: Double-Wrap Infinite Scarf

It’s almost the end of February. The sun may be staying out longer but the crisp air sure seems to be getting cooler with each passing day. Although we winter-haters can’t change the work of the weather clouds, we can make our bitter cold days a little bit cozier with a little handmade loving.

My friends will be the first to tell you that I have a scarf addiction. Not a day goes by without (what I like to call) a “fluffy” scarf wrapped around my neck. It could be a comfort thing, but the coziness of scarves help me get through these cold winter days (along with a few cups of tea, of course). Fun colours help make my day, and outfit, a little brighter.

This pattern is an adaption of a pattern on the back of a wool label. It is extremely easy if you know how do both knits and purls. I personally like really thick scarves so I opted to use a nice thick wool. One brand that has proven to be a wonderful brand for thick scarves is LOOPS & THREADS CHARISMA. You will most likely find it at any Michael’s Craft Store. It can prove to be a little bit expensive but if you are an avid flyer-browser you will quite often come across it on sale every now and then. If you can’t justify the price, check out some other brands too. Just look at the thickness and softness of the strand. I have used BERNAT ROVING and LOOPS & THREADS COUNTRY LOOM for other knitting projects in the past and they work pretty well too.

Another important thing to consider when making a thick and fluffy scarf is needle size. In my opinion, bigger is better. But remember that if you are going to use big needles, you need to have a thick wool.

 Alright. All of that is said and done–so let’s get to the goods!

MATERIALS

  • 2 balls of a thick wool, in any desired colour (the scarf in the picture is Copper)
  • A pair of 10mm straight knitting needles

PROCESS

Cast on 26 stitches. Starting with the first row, continuously repeat this pattern:

Row 1: Knit 2, Purl 2 (should end on a K2)

Row 2: P2, K2 (should end on a P2)

Row 3: Knit

Row 4: Purl

Continue this pattern through both balls of wool. When you have either reached your desired length or you are fairly close to the end of your second ball, finish the scarf on Row 2 before you cast the scarf off your needles. The scarf will be fairly long because it is designed to be a double-wrapped scarf. Finish the scarf by sewing the two ends together with the excess string of the wool. Sew in all loose ends (such as where the two balls were joined). Voila–you have a cozy new (and extremely easy to make) infinite scarf!

 VARIATIONS

Single-Wrapped Infinite: If you can’t handle being tangled in a double-wrapped infinite scarf, try adding more initial stitches to make the scarf wider. Add stitches in increments of 4 (such as 30, 34, 38, 42, 46, 50…etc.). If you use 50 initial stitches, it will most likely take the same amount of wool. Then just follow the pattern as stated above. Make it long enough so it wraps around your neck once.

Regular Scarf: If you hate infinite scarves and/or would rather have a regular scarf, this pattern can be adapted to do that. Just follow the pattern as instructed but don’t sew the two ends together at the end. Instead, just leave them as sharp edges or sew in strands of extra wool to the ends and tie. Be creative to determine different ways in which it can be “finished” to give it a unique quality.

There you have it. Even if you despise these cold winter days, this scarf will hopefully make your days a little more bearable. Now I’m off to have my cup of tea…

Happy Knitting!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

17 thoughts on “Knitting 101: Double-Wrap Infinite Scarf

  1. That’s gorgeous! Thank you for recommending a certain brand and type of yarn. As a novice, I always feel incredibly overwhelmed by all the yarn choices. I think this might be my next project!

    I love that tea mug, too. I need to get some cute ones. Mine are all hand-me-down plain janes. Well, except for the ones my son made that say, “I <3 Jeff," (my husband), and "I <3 Daniél," lol.

    ~Daniél

    • amberwideman says:

      Thank you! I just started knitting a couple of months ago myself so I understand your fear of yarns. There are always so many choices! I just started buying brands that were on sale and eventually I came across the LOOPS & THREADS CHARISMA and loved it. If you can find it, I definitely recommend using it. It’s really thick, soft, and has a bit of a sheen to it.

      As for the mug, this one was a gift. But if you’re a crafty person you should totally paint your own! If you are into thrifting you should scout for a set (or even a few) plain ceramic mugs from a second hand store and then paint on them yourself. That way they will be really customized and you know you will like them. They’re also quite cost efficient. I posted a DIY about painting your own ceramics (and good materials to use) so if you are interested you should check it out. If not…the ones your son made you do sound pretty cute :)

      Blessings and thanks for commenting!

  2. June says:

    I love this scarf! Will definitely be knitting this sometime soon. I’m obsessed with big squishy circle scarves right now and this looks perfect! Love the colour too!

    I have a question, though, where did you get your sweater? Did you knit it or buy it, because I’m hunting for a sweater like that (simple slouchy stockinette with a boat neck) and so far it’s been unsuccessful ):

    Thanks(:

    • amberwideman says:

      Thanks for stopping by, June! As for my sweater, I got it a couple years ago from Aerie. I wish I could say that I knit it myself but I don’t think I’m experienced enough yet. If you do decide to make yourself one, I can tell you that the yarn it is made of is very thin and knit quite loosely. It makes it a little more comfortable, I find. Thanks again for stopping by! :)

  3. […] We took a moment to mourn autumn. SIX: I finished knitting my first scarf of the season! I used this pattern that I posted on here last winter. SEVEN: I found a handful of old half-finished drawings in my […]

  4. sara says:

    Hi! this looks really great, but i have a question. I have size 15 needles and size 9 needles, which ones do you suggest I should use?

    • amberwideman says:

      Hi Sara,
      I think if you have a pair US size 15 needles, they are 10mm. So if that is what you have that is what I would suggest that you use! I think US size 9 are a fair bit smaller so your scarf will be a lot skinnier and not as bulky. I hope that helps!

      Thanks for stopping by!

  5. […] got the pattern from Pinterest, on a blogwhich I have found that I’m quite fond […]

  6. That is very fascinating, You’re an excessively professional blogger. I have joined your feed and sit up for searching for more of your excellent post. Also, I have shared your website in my social networks

  7. I like the valuable information you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and check once more here regularly.

    I’m quite sure I will be told lots of new stuff right right here! Best of luck for the following!

  8. If I was going to stripe this, how would I know when to switch colors?

  9. Thanks so much for the pattern. I found it while doing a google search in the aisle of Michaels with my Charisma in hand. Now I’m home and ready to knit. I’ll join you in that cup of tea on this cold cold day.

  10. The yarn I’ve been using is a bit too thick. What do you think I should do?

    • amberwideman says:

      Do you happen to have bigger needles? If you have a thicker yarn, try using larger needles. It may make it a little bit bigger, so if you do that, only cast on 22 stitches to begin. Another thing that may help is to try to knit more loosely. It may make it easier to work with the stitches if the wool is thicker. I hope this helps and good luck!

What do you think?

