Knitting 101: Easy Mistake Stitch Infinite Scarf

Holy cow. It is April. Can you believe it? All I can say is that just because it is unlikely that the snowflakes will fall, there is no reason to stash the cozy knit scarves away for the season. April has been known to have some chilly days. Break the chilly air (and your urge to knit, knit, knit) with this fool proof pattern for a thick, cozy, and quick-to-knit infinite scarf.

A while back, I saw a darling photo on Pinterest (of course) of a deep maroon purple scarf paired with a light blue collared shirt. I was instantly drawn to the combo. Maybe it is the artist coming out in me, but the contrast between the two colours was captivating. Not long after, I came across the perfect coloured wool on sale at Michaels and decided to knit one up for myself. Maybe you should give ‘er a try too!

If you’re a beginner knitter, this is the perfect project for you! I am not an old-pro at knitting and haven’t dared tackling the circular needles yet. Instead, I make my infinite scarves by knitting a regular scarf and then sewing the two ends together at the end. This is a very easy solution for those who aren’t comfortable with circular needles. There is a seam, but if sewn neatly, it looks uniformed and is usually tucked into the collar of my shirt or covered by my hair anyways.

This pattern was adapted into an infinite scarf from a pattern on The Purl Bee. As long as you know how to do a simple knit and purl stitch, it is essentially fool-proof.

For this project, you will need the following:

  • A set of 7mm straight knitting needles
  • Two balls of thick wool in your desired colour (I used Lion Brand Yarn Wool-Ease, Thick & Quick in Claret)
  • A large sewing needle

Cast on 39 stitches.

Row 1: Knit 2, Purl 2, K2, P2 (continue to repeat), finish on a P1

Row 2-end: Repeat the previous row over and over again.

That’s it. I know–easy, right? Continue to follow this pattern over and over again until you have reached a desired length. I have found that a good length requires nearly two full balls of wool. However, ensure that you have enough wool left to sew in the end. When you have reached your desired length, cast the scarf off your needles. Using the extra wool and a large needle, sew the two ends together. When finished, sew in the loose ends. And there you have it–a cozy, thick-ribbed knit infinite scarf.

If you desire alternating the pattern in any way (such as making it thicker or thinner), use increments of 4 +3 stitches. For example, if you would like to make it thicker, cast on 43, 47, or 51 initial stitches. Or to make it thinner, cast on 35, 31, or 27 initial stitches.

I just needed to share this photo that shows a very small fraction of my scarf collection. The scarf on the left is this Easy Mistake Stitch Infinite Scarf. You can never have too many cozy scarfs…that’s all I’m saying!

There you have it, friends. It is such an easy scarf to knit up. Let me know if you have any questions or comments. It may also be useful to reference the original pattern from The Purl Bee (you can do that by clicking HERE). Thanks for stopping by!

I hope you enjoy what April brings for you, whether it’s chilly or not!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Knitting 101: Easy Mistake Stitch Infinite Scarf

  1. Heidi says:

    Don’t give circular needles a bad wrap – id say they are perfect for a beginner knitter. I started using them to make nordic sweaters about 25 years go when I started knitting in university (oh, god, am really that old?)

    I’d like to make this -it might be the right project to get me back into knitting again.

    Plus, I like my neck to be warm and wear scarves t home a lot too.

What do you think?

