Top Five Friday: Personal Artworks Edition

Happy Friday, everybody! I’m not just saying that because it is a TOP FIVE FRIDAY but because it is the weekend (can I get a woop-woop?!). Although creating these TOP FIVE FRIDAY posts does bring a nice closure to my week, they also bring a nice start to my weekend. I’m excited to share this week’s (even though it is Friday the 13th) because it involves something pretty special to my heart…my artworks!

Even as a child, I knew that art was in my future. My mom used to say that “as long as she had a paper and some pencils, she would be content for hours”. That was probably a good thing for my parents…with two older siblings I got trucked around to numerous hockey games, dance classes, and swimming lessons. But as long as I had a pencil and paper close, I was a happy little camper.

Fast forward 15+ years. I just finished my second year of university where I am in the Fine Arts program. Although I have discovered that I have no passion to become a “Professional Artist”, I still really enjoy creating and expressing myself creatively. I took art classes all throughout highschool, but only once I got into some of the most incredible studios that my school has to offer did my creative boundaries extend and evolve. I have learned so many things about different art-making processes and so I am excited to share with you some of the pieces I have created as a result. The five I have picked for this post are five of my favourites, not because they are extremely wonderful or perfectly crafted, but because of the meanings and processes behind them.

So let’s get down to business…

NUMBER FIVE

Time in Perspective, pencil, October 2010

This piece was created in my very first university studio class. The class was a drawing course about perspective. The assignment required picking one mechanical item, taking it apart piece by piece, and drawing each aspect in various forms of perspective. This piece contains elements of one-point, two-point, and three-point persepective. If you are unfamiliar with perspective drawing, it is basically an incredibly mathematical and tedious process. I completed this by drawing each aspect in different perspectives and then compiling them together and adding the detail. Although drawing is one of the most simple processes of creating art (after all, it only requires a pencil and paper), it is a very tedious one. All I know is that this took me hours to complete. Hours. Time in perspective…what more can I say?

NUMBER FOUR

Les Fleurs, intaglio print, March 2011

If you have ever tried intaglio (or etching), you would know that it can be a tricky process. Your design is essentially chemically burned into a sheet of copper. Then to print, the ink is smudged into the cracks and pressed through a 3,000 pound press. This piece was the final project for my intaglio class. I have always had a heart for flowers. I find them to be so incredibly beautiful. This print was done with two separate copper plates. One contained the background pattern and floral shading and the second contained the flower outlines. The name came from a friend.

NUMBER THREE

Brainwave, acrylic and mixed media, March 2012

This was my most recent project. It was completed for a painting course called “Creating Space in Contemporary Painting”. This project was based around creating an abstract space using texture. This piece is a compilation of all of my old papers, notes, and assignments ripped up and glued onto the canvas. I can honestly say that this was one of the most therapeutic projects for me. It gave me an incredible opportunity to get rid of all that built up intellectual knowledge from projects past and release that organized energy into something incredibly unorganized and spontaneous. I was so intimidated by this abstract class because I am an incredibly organized person. But in the end, I enjoyed releasing that structure, if only for a few projects.

NUMBER TWO

17 Years, marker and photography, November 2010

This piece was also created for a drawing class. The assignment was extremely open but had to contain at least some aspect of drawing. This piece was probably one of the most emotional for me. When I was 17 years old, my family and I went through a fairly traumatic experience. I drew one flower for each year of my life up until that point. They were created as almost a mourning for those innocent years. Once again, it involved flowers which I loved to draw. I drew them with these awesome markers that almost act like watercolours. It was such an enjoyable process and I loved the result.

NUMBER ONE

Cookie Cutter (series), printmaking, October/November 2011

First things first…I LOVE printmaking. This was one of my absolute favourite projects to create. As you may or may not know, I absolutely love baking. I created this piece as a question and criticism of industrial society and consumer processes. The project was based around repetition. I documented (very closely) the layers and processes of baking a dozen sugar cookies. Then I transferred that process onto a silkscreen and printed it in a very gruelling but hands-on process. I was questioning what differentiates something that is hand-made from something that is created in a very specific and organized fashion. What makes something that is home-made more or less appealing? This piece was a cool opportunity for me to explore these questions.

Well there you have it. I don’t want to go too deeply into these works because it would take too many words and I am certainly not gifted with those. But I appreciate you taking the time to read through this. I hope that you all have an incredible weekend. Enjoy every single (creative) bit of it!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Top Five Friday: Personal Artworks Edition

  1. You have a beautiful talent.

  2. Lauren says:

    17 years actually looks like a photo – great job!!

  3. […] I want to thank you for reading. I know that someone else’s art isn’t the most thrilling thing to read about. I also fully understand that you probably don’t find it very exciting that I actually sold some artwork, but I appreciate you reading through anyways. If you are interested, you can check out a post I wrote a while back about some of my other pieces by clicking here. […]

What do you think?

