Notecards, Invites, and Letters, Oh My!

Hola Amigos! Have you ever been to one of those fun little “parties” at someone else’s home where a bunch of women get together, socialize, eat, and shop for tupperware, candles, candies, cosmetics, or kitchenware? As a child, I used to dream about the days when I would get to go with my mom to one of these suburban “house” parties. Well, guess what? Now I get to host one! And much to my pleasure, the title of host comes along with the opportunity to do all the fun party preparations (including making the invitations)! So I am going to share with you a dandy little post about

Making notecards, invitations, and other special occasion cards is one of my favourite things to do. In my opinion, homemade cards show love and care to the people they are specially made for. Quite honestly, homemade cards are a very enjoyable way to release some creative energy and to share the love! My crazy-one-man-assembly-line invitation making has inspired me to share with you some easy and practical ways to create your very own customized stationary.

I transformed my “customized stationary” into invitations for my party but this is a similar approach I take for making everyday notecards to have on hand. I like making a large batch at one time so I don’t have to pull out all of my supplies every time I need a card. I make them in basic colours so when I have a recipient in mind, I can just add a few extra decorations that are special for that person. One my favourite combinations are black and white patterned paper with a colour highlight. Black and white matches everything so it makes a great “base” paper for your customized stationary. However, depending on the time of year you can use holiday or season themed papers as your base paper.

If you’re adventurous enough, you can make your own card base. I prefer to buy pre-made blank cards because they come with envelopes and are more convenient. I then cut out a bunch of appropriately sized blocks of paper in various patterns. This allows very easy access to “grab and glue” to the base cards.

I like using unique scissors and shapes to create special features on the cards like this “curvy” edge. For my invitations I wanted uniformity, but when I make “everyday” stationary, I like to play around with placement and colour. Not one card looks the same as another. The perfectionist in me always notices some that I don’t like as much as others, but that is to be expected when playing around and trying different things.

When I’m all finished, I have a big stack of customized cards that are easily accessible for life’s little moments. They are great for sending encouraging little notes, adapting into birthday cards, or transforming into invitations. I did this by adding a few words on the front and the invite information on the inside. I even added a little stamp to fill the inside.

Creating your own customized stationary is one of the easiest things because it is completely up to you how they turn out. There are no expectations and so they always turn out wonderfully. Some things you may want to consider using is different patterned paper, recycled goods, unique scissors, punches, stamps, markers, ink pads, stickers, or add-on decals. Play around with paper shapes and colours. Experiment with making your own card bases and envelopes (for unique shapes) and using pre-made cards. Card-making can get pretty expensive but it doesn’t have to be. You can use old wrapping papers, scraps of paper, and recycled cards. It’s just a fun way to be a little bit creative and show a little bit of personalized love in a time and culture when mass-produced cards are chosen for convinience. Your customized stationary can be convenient too though.

Good luck on creating your very own stationary. Let me know how it goes!

If you are a little more daring, check out this challenge!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

What do you think?

