A Quick and Easy Sweet Treat: Chocolate Pretzel Bites

As I mentioned in the previous post, I have had a fairly busy weekend. One of the things that took a lot of my attention and time was a Coffee House/Open Mic Night/Bake Sale fundraiser event that I helped to organize. I love a good cup of java, I love great music and time spent with friends, but, perhaps most of all, I love baking delicious treats (well…and eating them too)! Earlier in the week, I made a brief list of a few recipes that I have been dying to try. I decided that I would bake quite a few treats from my list to be sold on the special evening.

One of the things that I was eager to try was Chocolate Pretzel Bites. I didn’t actually have a recipe for them, but I had seen an image on Pinterest. One of my favourite flavour combinations is “salty” and “sweet” so chocolate pretzels have always been a favourite treat of mine. I liked this version because it could be customized for personal preferences. They were so easy to make which is good because they don’t last long (at least not in my house).

Perhaps this is not the way that the original “inventor” created these easy treats. But this is what I did and it worked very well. There is not a set amount of ingredients needed. Simply put, you will need the same number of Hershey Kisses as you will need pretzels. I purchased my ingredients in bulk (Bulk Barn=treat-lover’s heaven) but you could just as easily buy a bag of pretzels and a bag or two of Hershey Kisses.

You will need: pretzels, Hershey Kisses, and peanuts.

Preheat the oven to 275 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Lay the pretzels out in a single layer.

Unwrap all of your “kisses” and place one on top of each individual pretzel. Do your best to ensure that they are in the center of the pretzel (otherwise the melt slightly off the edge). Carefully place the baking sheet on the center rack in the oven and “bake” for 5 minutes. In the meantime, crush up some peanuts.

When the 5 minutes are up, remove the pretzels from the oven and immediately sprinkle with the crushed peanuts. Quickly sprinkle with a little salt as well. Allow to cool for half an hour and then transfer the tray to the fridge. Re-fridgerate for at least one hour. Remove from the tray and place in a container. Store in the fridge.

That’s it! You can definitely experiment with different variations. The original photo from Pinterest had an M&M pressed into the chocolate instead of peanuts. You could try different types of nuts, toffee bits, dried cranberries, or coconut. There are also a variety of different Hershey Kiss flavours to experiment with as well. Try different kinds and see what combinations you can come up with. I made another batch with Hershey Hugs (a white and milk chocolate mix) and sprinkled with chopped pistachios. Those were delicious as well! What combinations do you think would be worth trying?

To finish off, I thought I would share a few of the photos from the Coffee House/Open Mic/Bake Sale night. Thanks for reading and I hope you try this deliciously sweet and salty treat. Let me know if you come up with any unique combinations that are worth trying!

These are a couple young ladies practicing some songs.

These are a couple of the first prints purchased from a series created by Landon Wideman. He is an incredibly talented graphic artist and even has a rockin’ blog going. If you are interested in checking out his work (and I strongly suggest that you do), you should check out The Seam. Trust me…you won’t regret it.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “A Quick and Easy Sweet Treat: Chocolate Pretzel Bites

What do you think?

