The Perfect Treat for Backyard Campfires (Happy Birthday, Laci)

It’s getting pretty late and it’s been a long day, but I just wanted to share a quick post in celebration of my beautiful sister. Today was her 23rd birthday–where has the time gone?

My sister has always been so very special to me. I’m lucky because I’ve never had to live a day without her! Ever since I was born, she has always been my best friend. She was the only person who could ever convince me to wear a dress, go “pee on the potty”, help with the dishes, and pose for all of Grandma’s photo-ops. Sure, most of these things were agreed upon over a promise to sleep with her favourite stuffed animal or for an additional loonie to add to my piggy bank (from her own allowance, might I add), but the point is that she has always known me so very well. She is a compassionate young lady with a heart of an angel (too much?). She has taught and done so much for me in my lifetime, and so the least I could do was show her a little bit of love on her 23rd birthday.

So what did I do? I did what any dessert-obsessed individual would do–I baked her some cupcakes!

My sister loves everything about Disney, so Mini Mouse inspired cupcakes seemed like a logical solution. She found me a picture of some that were very similar to this, so I baked up one of my favourite cupcake recipes and gave it a shot. This is the result.

I made Coca-Cola Cupcakes (but with Cherry Coke to add the extra flavour). This is my favourite cupcake recipe to date because they are so moist and delicious (I talked about them a little bit more in this post). I then topped them with a Salted Chocolate-Peanut Butter Buttercream Frosting, sprinkled a little salt, and added some Cadbury (Fair-Trade Certified) Chocolate “Buttons” to create the ears. They were easy to make and turned out great! She loved them too, which is obviously a bonus.

However, since we were having a low-key backyard campfire to celebrate her special day, I also decided to tackle some “S’mores Brownies”. Turns out that these were easier than pie to make as well. I didn’t get around to actually trying one, but my special taste-testers said they were delicious. To make them, all you need to do is bake a batch of your favourite brownie recipe, switch the oven to “Broil”, sprinkle the fully baked brownies with marshmallows and crushed graham crackers, “toast” under the broiler for 30 seconds, remove, and sprinkle with chocolate chips. They are quick and easy to make and are perfect for snacking on at backyard campfire gatherings.

Well, Lace, I hope that you enjoyed your special day today. You truly are the best sister and deserve way more than just some Mini Mouse Inspired Cupcakes or S’mores Brownies. I am truly blessed to have you not only as a sister, but as a best friend. Thank you for all you do. I love you so very much!

Thanks for reading, everyone! I hope you are all having an incredibly blessed week with lots of beautiful sunshine–perfect for night time campfires. I think that it’s safe to say that summer is here!

Tagged , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “The Perfect Treat for Backyard Campfires (Happy Birthday, Laci)

  1. mydearbakes says:

    Wow, I’m getting hungry just by looking at your post already =)

  2. steve authier says:

    Amber is it amazing to read your enteries. You are so positive, it is a joy to read them. I love your cupcakes. Your site has given me an opportunity to get to know you a little better, and for me to see all the gifts you have. God Bless, love Judi

  3. […] quite make the list–they are still tasty none-the-less! Mini cupcakes, homemade popsicles, s’mores brownies, and […]

What do you think?

