“Mission: Parachute Pants” is Complete!

I trust you all had a wonderful long weekend. I know what you’re thinking: “It’s already Thursday and the long weekend is long gone“, right? I suppose you’re right. Although the long weekend officially ended three days ago, I’m still recuperating. I was camping so I needed a little extra time to catch up on my sleep and to clean up a little bit (I’ll admit it, I didn’t shower for four days).

Anyways, I am very exited to finally be able to share some photos of this project with you! As you may or may not know, I recently learned how to sew. No, I should re-phrase that. I recently started to sew (I am not experienced enough to say “learned”). I finally found a great fabric store close by so I decided that I wanted to take on my very first sewing project. After rifling through stacks and stacks of pattern books, I (for some bizarre and completely naive reason) chose my very first project: a pair of Aladdin-inspired pants!

If you are an old pro at sewing and are reading this, you are probably thinking to yourself “What in the heavens is this crazy nineteen year-old amateur sewer thinking by choosing to make a pair of pants as her first project!?”. I don’t judge you for asking that question. I considered this multiple times myself throughout the process (just add in a few “stupid”s and “freaking”s for a more accurate portrayal). I hit some discouraging moments and misunderstandings in the pattern, but as you can see, I kept going, asked lots of questions, pushed through, and finally finished!

I started the pants about a month back but hit a road block when the pattern called for “fusible interfacing”. As expected, I had no idea what that was. As a result, I packed up my gear and ignored the project for a little while. When I resumed, I quickly got stopped once again when my mom’s sewing machine broke. Luckily, my wonderful grandma lent me hers so I could get back at it. This morning I woke up, ate some breakfast, and said to myself “Today is the day that I am going to finish my pants!“. And what do you know…I did!

When I finished, I eagerly grabbed my camera and grabbed my sister and we did a little photo shoot. It may or may not have taken place in my neighbour’s backyard. (Linda, if you’re reading this, we are sorry for using your backyard. But you should take it as a compliment–we love your gardens!). We had some good laughs in the process.

Just as one last thought, I want to quickly bring up my purpose for attempting to make handmade clothing. If you have been following my blog for a while now, you are probably familiar with my “no-buying-new-clothes-for-a-whole-year” challenge. I am not buying any new clothing for a variety of reasons (you can read more about that here). As a result, I have been on a major thrifting and refashioning mission. I understand that making your own clothing is not the most environmentally friendly or ethical approach to clothing (unless you extensively research where your fabric is coming from and how it is produced), but I did find the process of making my own pair of pants very enlightening. I now understand the amount of effort and time that goes into producing a piece of clothing. By personally turning a flat piece of fabric into something wearable, I have saved someone else from doing that for me–someone who would most likely be a young child, forced to work under harsh working conditions. I have a whole new appreciation for the material-to-clothing production process. So in a way, making my own clothing from scratch can be sustainable. In the future, I am definitely interested in seeking out ethically produced fabrics and materials to make that much more of an effort to be sustainable.

I guess I’ll leave it at that. What was your first sewing project? If you have never tried sewing but are interested, what would your first sewing project be? I just want to encourage you to give it a try if you never have but are interested. It is definitely intimidating but it is also rewarding! Join in on the conversation below–I would love to hear about some of your sewing adventures. Thanks for reading!

Tagged , , , , ,

5 thoughts on ““Mission: Parachute Pants” is Complete!

  1. Courtney says:

    Amber! I saw your blog link on facebook, and made sure to take a look! I was completely at awe with the creativity and craftsmanship involved in both your projects and blog. As a recent Studio Art graduate myself I am thrilled to see someone like you empower their creativity and strive for their dreams. I wish you all the success in the world, and hope that one day I can visit your bake shop! Here’s to Barbie for fostering our creativity! Say hi to the family. Hugs, Courtney Martin.

    • amberwideman says:

      Hey Court! First of all, congratulations on graduating! That is so exciting. We need to catch up sometime soon. I would love to hear about what you’re up to and where you’re heading with your BFA. As for the bake shop, when I finally get it opened I will gladly tell you so you can come in for a visit. I definitely appreciate the encouragement–thanks for stopping by and commenting. I hope you and your family are doing well.
      PS. I think all those years of Barbie DEFINITELY takes the credit! :)

  2. Great job! I love those Aladdin pants. And kudos for picking something tough on your first go! My mom is a great seamstress. She tried teaching me to sew when I was younger, but after making a pillow case and a Barbie dress (aka, a fabric tube), I threw in the towel. Sewing requires an attention to detail that I’m afraid I don’t posess, at least in that capacity. Good for you for learning something new, and for committing to no new clothing for a year. That’s fantastic!

    • amberwideman says:

      Thanks, Rian! I fully admit that I was really naive in choosing pants as my first project. I didn’t really consider the fact that pants would be tricky to do (especially with pockets and pleats)! But I’m glad I just went for it. I feel unstoppable now haha. I obsessively made little pillows as a kid but they were terrible and hideous. I never did attempt Barbie clothes though (even though I was crazy about Barbies)…kudos for you on that! Thanks so much for stopping by, reading, and taking the time to comment :)

What do you think?

