Weekend Round Up: The Week of Pink

Hello everybody! I have been a busy bee all weekend and haven’t had much down time. I’m running on only a few hours of sleep. But that being said, I really felt that it was necessary to post a Weekend Round Up post to recap where some of my time has been spent this past week. I have felt really blessed so I wanted to share some of the reasons why…

ONE: I eat lots of peanut-butter and banana sandwiches so I thought this “hotdog” version was pretty clever. TWO: I snapped this photo of a page from the book Steal Like An Artist by Austen Kleon. I received this book through an awesome giveaway from Truth and Cake. I read the book so fast and was so encouraged by it. I loved this page because it describes my creative process perfectly. THREE: During the winter months, I started developing a pattern for a knitted blanket. I ignored it for a while but I decided that it was time to finish it up. I am so happy to be back at it and am so excited to get it done (you can bet that the pattern will be posted on here when I finish)! FOUR: Planting is one of the things that I look forward to the most in the Spring. Not only do I get to beautify our gardens, but I get to beautify our gardens with my dad! He truly loves being outside and working on the yard and the gardens and I love spending that time with him. This is our cart…you can obviously see that pink is our colour. FIVE: I finally got around to baking up a batch of Pink Lemonade Cupcakes. I wasn’t completely satisfied with the flavour but I have a plan to “tweak” the recipe in the future. They were still pretty tasty though. SIX: Who needs a dog when you have a cat to walk? Seriously though…she actually goes for walks with us. SEVEN: After we got the hanging baskets up and the planter boxes fastened, I sat back, relaxed, and enjoyed the peacefulness of the front porch. EIGHT: Sure, he loves being outdoors,but once he comes in he literally hits the sack. This is how real men take naps. NINE: I attempted to make a little apron but ran into a few troubles. First of all, I couldn’t decide what fabric to use. Then, once I got started the sewing machine broke. Let’s just say that project is on hold for a little while… TEN: I scream, you scream, we all scream for icecream…cookies? ELEVEN: This is my thrilled face on my way to deliver my big baking order. I couldn’t wait to finally sit back and relax. TWELVE: These are some of the beautiful flowers that just naturally came up again this year. Isn’t it amazing that some flowers can survive all winter and then re-bloom the following Spring?

Well, that’s all I have for you this week. If you are an instagram user, feel free to follow me at @amberwideman. I hope you all had a great weekend, regardless of how busy, hectic, out-of-control, or chaotic it may have been. I hope that you were able to recognize some of the small blessings in your every day. Thanks for reading!

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Weekend Round Up: The Week of Pink

  1. Oh, loved all of this! Love pink too! A walking cat? How funny & cute! And the life of a project thing–so true–maybe add: “I’m going to finish this even if it kills me!” (or) “I’m going to finish this cause it’s been around so long I’m sick of looking at it!” Cookies are sooo pretty! (too pretty to eat!) Oh, and the front porch: very pretty and inviting. We just moved and our front porch is going to be part of the curb appeal–someday! We’re already looking at other porches in town to get ideas. Gosh, maybe we can do it even this year! yea!!

    • amberwideman says:

      I agree with you on the life of a project thing…it should have those thoughts added in. It’s funny how anybody creating anything can relate to that cycle of a project. As for the front porch, I wish you luck on creating it just how you want it. Front porches are so underestimated, in my opinion. It’s one of my favourite places to be…reading, knitting, eating breakfast, chatting with my family…it’ such a peaceful space. Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment :)

What do you think?

