RECIPE: Angel Lush Cake

Birthday week has hit our household. Every June, my family enters both a treat coma and goes into partial debt from all the cake that is consumed and presents that are bought. We have three birthdays within five days: my Dad’s on the 5th, mine on the 7th, and my brother’s on the 9th. But I’m not complaining. Birthday’s are notorious for specialized baked goods and that’s right up my alley. A couple of days ago, I asked my Dad what type of cake he wanted for his birthday. I immediately felt stupid for asking because I already knew the answer. He asks for the same type of cake every year. That, my friends, is angel food cake with whipped cream and berries.

I’ll admit that there isn’t anything special about angel food cake in terms of baking. In fact, angel food is the only type of cake that I will use a box mix for. It is way more convenient and although I have never actually tried, I have heard that making it from scratch is quite the challenge (but don’t let me deter you–if you want to try making it from scratch, all the power to you!). What makes angel food so delicious are the toppings. The cake is naturally very light so the whipped cream adds a little bit of density and the berries obviously contribute a bit of sweetness. It is a great dessert for those who are trying to watch their figure and who like fruity flavours as opposed to rich and decadent.

What Will You Need?

  • A box of “Angel Food Cake”
  • A package of fresh strawberries (frozen may be used as well, but I prefer fresh)
  • Half a package of fresh blueberries
  • 2 Tbsp. fruit juice (any kind)
  • 2 Tbsp. sugar
  • A carton of whipping cream
  • Additional sugar for sweetening the whipping cream

Prepare the angel food cake according to the directions on the box mix. Ensure that it is baked at least 4-5 hours before the intended serving time to allow complete cooling. Meanwhile, wash all of the berries in cold water. Place in a strainer and allow to slightly dry. Cut the strawberries into smaller pieces, discarding any bruised or white spots. Place in a medium sized bowl. Add the blueberries. Pour the fruit juice over the berries and sprinkle with sugar. Stir, ensuring that all of the berries are coated. Cover and place in the fridge. In a separate bowl, beat the whipping cream until it forms soft peaks. Add additional sugar to taste and continue to beat until it has reached a desired consistency. Cover and place in the fridge until serving.

What you do next is totally up to you. If you are planning on presenting the cake and are sure that it will all be eaten immediately, top the cake with the whipping cream and berries. However, what we usually do is cut the cake into pieces and then top each individual piece with the desired amount of toppings. This is only because the cake doesn’t all get eaten at once so it prevents the cake from getting soggy with the toppings. But do whatever your little heart desires–it all tastes delicious!

As always, my Dad loved the cake! He gobbled his piece up very quickly. His birthday was actually yesterday but there are still some leftovers that we have all been working away at. It tastes just as delicious the next day as it did the first. If you aren’t a “berry” person, it can be topped with whatever toppings you desire. Whipped cream with chocolate drizzle? Whipped cream with mangos and pineapple? Whipped cream with an orange glaze? Mmm…I’m getting a rumbly tummy just thinking about all the possibilities.

To finish off, I just wanted to share a couple of instagram photos. The first photo is some of the berries that ended up in our tummies. The second photo was taken by my Dad on his birthday when I asked him to hold my phone (complete and total mistake), and the final photo is my leftover piece of cake that I devoured this afternoon.

Happy Birthday to any of you June babies! Thanks for reading–I hope you have a delicious Wednesday.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “RECIPE: Angel Lush Cake

  1. Happy early birthday, Amber! That cake looks delicious–all of my favorite desserts incorporate berries in one way or another. Thanks for sharing!

    • amberwideman says:

      Thanks for the birthday wishes! Berry desserts are the best kind of desserts for this time of year. The rich, indulgent, chocolatey ones are better suited for those long winter days if I do say so myself. Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment, Rian!

  2. Happy birthday! Enjoy all of the cake.

    • amberwideman says:

      Thank you for the wishes! So far, we definitely have been enjoying the cake. I baked myself some creamsicle cupcakes for tomorrow. I’ve been dying to try them, but I have to space it out or it’s just cake overload… thanks for stopping by, Heidi!

  3. This is one of my favorite things! Angel food done up like strawberry shortcake. MMMM!

  4. Judi Authier says:

    Hi Wideman Family- Happy Birthday to Amber, Dale and Landon.

What do you think?

