Top Ten Reasons Why My Dad is Better Than the Rest

Meet the Wideman family…

See that big guy in the black up front? His name is Dale and he is my Dad.

Dale is a hardworking carpenter who operates his own business. He loves what he does but also appreciates a good Leaf game, fresh cut grass, and a cold one at the end of the day. He is notorious for frequent naps on the couch and sleeveless t-shirts. He has a ponytail and usually reps some classy cowboy boots. Although I can try, this cool dude can’t be summarized in a small paragraph. He has so many gifts, talents, hilarious quirks, and strange habits that can’t always be put into words. He holds our family together with love and stupid jokes. So on this wonderful Father’s Day I have decided to share with you the greatness that defines Dale–my Dad.

  1. He has a ridiculous sense of humour. From fake kittens on the bed, Mike Holmes’ “hiding” under my pillow, giraffes walking in the back yard, to receiving mysterious presents from strange people on Christmas morning–whatever! You name it, he’s done it. The best part about it all is that he usually breaks out into hysterical laughter before the trick or joke has even been completed.
  2. He loves all of his kids equally. Today at lunch, I asked him what his proudest moment as a father has been. He chuckled and said that he has had lots of proud moments as a dad and couldn’t choose just one. I was kind of surprised…I thought he might say that his proudest moment was when my brother finally graduated high school but, hey, that’s just me. (Haha just kidding…my brother graduated high school on time and with flying colours).
  3. He is incredibly musically gifted. Not only does he play the guitar, banjo, mandolin, stand-up bass, and bass guitar, but he plays them well. He taught himself how to play all of these instruments. He has built up quite the collection of instruments over the years and has always been keen on sharing them with all of us. He always changes my guitar strings, helps me adjust the tuning when I just can’t seem to get it right, and encourages me in my playing and singing. He even helped me pick out a beautiful new guitar this past Christmas.
  4. He invests a lot of time (and energy) into our home. As I mentioned above, he is a carpenter. When we moved into our humble abode sixteen years ago, the place was a dump. Thanks to his keen eyes and incredible skill, he has transformed our home into a place where we all love to be. Sure, it’s still small and cozy, but he has maximized the space to its full potential and made life a little more comfortable for us. He also has a knack for gardening. Every Spring, our home is donned with vibrant pink flowers and unique plants. He even hand picks every dandelion out of the lawn, leaving our yard green and lush. He has made our home very special.
  5. He looks as tough as nails, but has a heart of a grandmother. Many people often mistake him for a biker, but I can assure you that he is the furthest thing from. His ponytail, full beard, and tough-guy body shape may fool you but it is all just a trick. He loves cats, bluegrass music, and cereal, goes to bed at 9:30PM and would be more than willing to do anything for any person in need. He has a soft heart and is not afraid to show it.
  6. He hangs out with me all the time. I genuinely like hanging out with both of my parents. I often say to them “Sorry if you guys get sick of me, but I like hanging out with you”. I talk to them both about a lot of things on my mind and my heart. We like going to movies, on Walmart trips, for walks, and icecream. Sometimes I even get to hit up Home Depot with him, which leads me to my next point…
  7. He is friends with a ridiculous number of people who work at Home Depot. There are three or four Home Depot’s in our area and he frequently visits each and every one. In fact, he goes so often that he knows a lot of the people that work there. Whenever I go with him to grab some things, he is constantly saying “hi” and making small talk with various employees. It always makes me laugh, but it just goes to show you how friendly and loving he truly is.
  8. He teaches me to appreciate the finer things in life. He loves the small things. From a bowl (or two) of icecream to his nightly “duty” of watering the flower beds, he appreciates life’s little moments and the enjoyment buried within them. In my opinion, that is one of the best values you can instil in your children.
  9. He has given me a wonderful example of what constitutes a true man. I may be young and naive, but he has shown me what type of man I need to be looking for as a future partner. He has a pure heart and serves God in some pretty incredible ways. He gives me hope that there are good people out there.
  10. He loves unconditionally. None of us are perfect, but he follows the perfect example of Jesus and loves without fail. He encourages me in my passions and aspirations, and sympathizes with me when I make mistakes. He never stops loving.

Bragging rights goes to whoever can guess what my dad did in this tiny little church that made us all laugh so hard. 

I should put out a little disclaimer that, in reality, the greatness of my Dad can’t be described in ten short points. I am thankful for him everyday. He has brought so much enjoyment, love, life, care, and laughs to our family. So, on this special day devoted completely to father’s, I just want to say thank you, Dad. I love and appreciate you more than words could express.

May you all have an incredibly blessed father’s day. I hope that you can find the things to appreciate about the fathers and father figures in your life. Not just today, but every day!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Reasons Why My Dad is Better Than the Rest

  1. Steve Authier says:

    What an awesome tribute to your dad, and I know it’s all true. He’s an awesome man.

  2. Sarah Taylor says:

    I’m pretty sure I know what dale did!! a little “silence please, everybody freeze” ?? LOL
    Also – in that first photo of him and your mom – does his face ever look like John!!
    Give Dale a big father’s day hug from me too! Spending countless weekends at your house was ALWAYS a blast :)
    xo

  3. Matt says:

    Number 7 is the greatest.

What do you think?

