Turn Up the Oven: Top Three Favourite Summer Bakes (so far)!

I’m just finishing up my last few days working at a camp and for some reason I find myself constantly thinking about baking. I decided I was going to take a little sabbatical from the blogsphere while I was up here, but I couldn’t resist the satisfaction of typing away at my computer, editing photos, and hitting the Publish button. Although I’m not creating any new projects, I did have a few photos stored up on my camera from the past few months that I wanted to share. So I have compiled this list of my Top Three Favourite Summer Bakes (so far).

Strawberries scream summer. They are a delicious summer berry that can be used in a variety of baked goods. Remember how I shared my recipe for Strawberry-Chocolate Chip Loaf? I also pureed them with some mango and banana to make homemade popsicles. They are very refreshing on hot summer days and the bright red colour that they add makes any food look delicious.

I made these vanilla cupcakes with strawberry buttercream and a marshmallow fondant flower decal for a birthday. They were light and delicious yet were packed with sweetness. I used homemade strawberry jam to bring the flavour to the buttercream instead of raw strawberries. I loved the flecks of red in the frosting, highlighting the presence of the strawberry. I only got to taste-test one so I’ll have to make them again to put them to the true test (…if I must).

Two words: ice cream. Ice cream cones are the epitome of summer treats. After all, they don’t sing “I scream, you scream, we all scream for ice cream!” for no reason. But in my opinion (which may be a bit biased), a good cookie always beats ice cream. So why not combine the two?

A couple months ago, my sister came home from a trip with a new cookie cutter set in hand. Not only did the set contain an ice cream sundae cutter but it also had two different ice cream cone cutters. When I received a cookie order at the beginning of June, I jumped on the opportunity to make these little guys. I flooded them with a basic butter-based icing, adapting the colours and flavours. They are the perfect little treat for snacking on and the best part is that they don’t melt!

Fudgsicles, popsicles, creamsicles, oh my! I know I’ve shared these treats once before but they were so delicious that they definitely hold the number one spot on my summer treat list. As I mentioned in the previous post, creamsicles are one of my favourite treats. The combination of the orange and the creamy vanilla is incredible. It is so refreshing and satisfying.

I’ve baked up quite a few things so far this summer (even though I’ve taken the past three weeks off). I’ve felt more and more inspired by different summer flavours and I can’t wait to transform them into something tasty. Raspberries, coconut, and new cookie cutter shapes are all on my radar. I can’t wait to test some new recipes and share them.

To finish off, I am going to share some instagram photos of a few of the treats that didn’t quite make the list–they are still tasty none-the-less! Mini cupcakes, homemade popsicles, s’mores brownies, and more!

Tagged , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Turn Up the Oven: Top Three Favourite Summer Bakes (so far)!

  1. Love the little ice cream cones, so cute!

  2. They all look delicious. Hope you enjoyed the camp.

    • amberwideman says:

      Thanks, Heidi! I did enjoy my time at camp. It went so quickly though. I can’t complain though…I’ve been dying to get back in my kitchen. Thanks for saying hi :)

  3. The Meat says:

    They all look so cute! I love all of them, especially the orange creamsicles!!

    • amberwideman says:

      Thank you! If you like creamsicles you should totally try making these. They are honestly my favourite cupcake to date. The link is above if you want the recipe. Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment :)

      • The Meat says:

        You’re welcome. And yes I will definately make them! I’ll need to convert it to gluten free though because someone in the house is allergic to gluten… Don’t want to leave them out hehe. I’ll definately let you know how it goes!

  4. mydearbakes says:

    Awww, this looks so fantastic! So like to have a pc of it! =)

What do you think?

