Diary of a Cookie Cutter

Have you ever moved? You spend hours upon hours packing up boxes, organizing all of your belongings into appropriate categories, and gathering friends and family to help with the heavy lifting. Eventually you reach your new home, only to find it completely empty with the huge task of settling in looming above your head. Where do you start? Will you ever feel settled again?  These are a few of the questions that you ask yourself as you prepare to unpack.

Although I have only moved houses once in my lifetime, I have recently asked myself these unsettling questions. As you may or may not know, I am an aspiring baker. Recently, I have been spending a lot of time creatively exploring my future in the art of baking. From brainstorm journals to e-courses, research to daydreaming, I have been striving to develop a business. I’ve been taking custom baking orders for a couple of years now, but now that my work is getting “out-there”, I am looking for new ways that I can create a brand for my products that is appealing to my future customers. One aspect of this is developing a social media experience that is simple and easily accessible.

The move I’ve made involved relocating from one virtual kitchen to another. I have been operating a blog through Tumblr called Diary of a Cookie Cutter that chronicles some of my adventures in baking. Tumblr worked really well for my needs in the past, but now that I am passing out the web address as my main form of contact for potential customers, I needed a system that was more organized and easy to navigate. Since I have been hosting this blog on WordPress for nearly eight months now, I decided that my other blog needed to make the move.

Needless to say, I have been spending oodles of time trying to settle into my new kitchen. It’s hard to transfer a couple of year’s worth of baking posts to a new place, so I have decided to leave the majority of them at their old home and have created a link to the new blog.

So I am starting to settle into my new blog. The essentials have been unpacked and the rest will come slowly but surely. I’ve developed a Gallery that features various albums of some of my baked goods. I’ve also created a very specific Contact page that contains all the information needed for customers to contact me. I have even created a Recipe Archive (similar to this site) and a more baking-specific About page.

I’ve already created three posts at my new home. “The Story of a Cookie-aholic” gives an overview of my purpose for re-locating as well as gives a little background information about my love for baking. “The Top Five Tastes of Summer” counts down my five favourite summer bakes so far. And finally, “Go Bananas: Chunky Monkey Cupcakes” is my very first recipe post and is littered with numerous photos of some tasty banana cupcakes. I’m excited to share even more and more as I explore flavour combinations and test lots of recipes.

If you are interested in the baking-aspect of A SMILE EACH DAY, I suggest that you hop on over to The Diary of a Cookie Cutter. It contains even more posts about delicious and tempting treats.

So once again, I just want to say thank you. I appreciate your patience as I get my belongings unpacked. I hope that you are all finding lots of smiles each and every day!

Tagged , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Diary of a Cookie Cutter

  1. Marianne says:

    I love your other blog!!!! And this one of course : ) Unpacking is a pain, I’ve done it too many times. take your time we will all be here when you are settled in nicely!

  2. Your new site is fantastic, Amber! You have a gift for combining beautiful images with well-written content and super creative treats. Congrats on this new venture! I’m excited to see where your baking journey takes you–I’m certain it will be to new, amazing places.

    • amberwideman says:

      Thank you so much, Rian! I appreciate your encouragement as I take these baby steps on my baking journey. I have been trying to make some tough and risky choices lately so it’s always nice to receive those little slices of encouragement when it’s needed most. I’m excited to see where this journey leads me and I appreciate all the people who join me on it–whether in big ways or small! Thanks for taking the time to comment and encourage :)

  3. Cathy Wideman says:

    I totally agree with your opinion on moving…..it is a pain, but well worth the effort when you have your new location all set up and established, just the way you want it. Good choice to make the move, Amber. I know your creativity will always come shining through in whatever you do and I will continue to view and enjoy every single post and blog. Keep growing and experiencing new and exciting changes in your life and as you make choices try to view each one as a new opportunity to find your “niche” in the big amazing world. You will always be “my special creative gift from God” that gives me so many smiles each day.

  4. […] missed this. I’ve missed crafting, photographing, blogging, and posting. But as I mentioned earlier, my time has been invested in settling into my new virtual kitchen. And boy oh boy, is she ever […]

What do you think?

