The Wonderful World of Print: Print-spirations!

I’m feeling blessed today. Over the past few months, I have been struggling with the idea of going back to school. When I finished last semester in April, I was bound and determined that I didn’t want to continue my degree. I felt frustrated with school. I felt uninspired. It felt like a waste of my time…time that could surely be spent in much more worthwhile ways. All summer I wrestled with the idea of continuing. I lacked motivation and direction. But after a significant amount of time and prayer spent considering my options, I decided to enrol in course anyways and leave the actual “decision making” to a later date. Well, it’s no surprise that the “decision making” time came around, and it came around quick.

Needless to say, I’ve opted to head back to school. I never have and never will for one moment regret or disregard the value of an education, regardless of what it’s in. In the past two years, I have learned more about the world around me and about myself than I have in all my other years of existence. I’ve discovered my passions, my direction, my holy discontents, and all that lies between. I appreciate all of that, no matter how stressful and overwhelming “school” may be. I was sick of “wasting” my time just learning, learning, learning, instead of doing something about the things that bother me and the things that fire me up. But I truly believe that heading back to school is where I’m meant to be. I have more learning, more discovering, and more exploring ahead of me before I embark on the mission ahead of me.

Anyways, let’s get back to the purpose of this post. I start my first class tomorrow. This year I get to begin specializing in my area of choice and I have opted to explore the wonderful world of printmaking. Ever since I started print courses two years ago, my heart has been in it completely. The process is so physical, yet magical. Today I had a chance to sit down and do some brainstorming for the year ahead. I have decided to share with you some of the pieces that have been inspiring me and will (hopefully) pop up in some of my work this year.

Anything and everything grid. I love the grid composition. It’s a way of organizing and categorizing that is so visually appealing. I love this illustration which is organized, yet still has a little bit of chaos.

Natural vs. Unnatural. I love the play between detailed and graphic in this image. I also love that it involves a natural subject entangled in a web of almost unnatural colour. They create a very interesting and beautiful contrast.

Text. Doodling and journalling words is one of my favourite things to do. Words have such a dominant voice, so when paired with aesthetic beauty (or ugliness), they speak even more strongly. I particularly love the use of only black ink with lots of line and movement in this print.

Collage. I have always loved collage. I particularly love it in print, because the printed layers are collaged in and of themselves. I love when artists accentuate these layers, offering the viewer a glimpse into the process of creation. I love this image where a few unlikely images are paired with graphic block-outs and line.

Windows to the soul. I love untraditional frames in print. I adore how this artist offered us a glimpse through a window overlooking this scene, while also playing with the subject matter of a child’s silhouette. It gives more interest and meaning to the piece.

The boundaries of print are limitless. I love these approaches and can’t wait to get creating my own works. What are some of the things you like about print? Are there any approaches you want to incorporate into your work?

Happy back-to-school (or not)! I hope you are all having a beautiful and inspired week.

I found these images primarily on Pinterest, so I can’t locate the original source. Sorry!

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “The Wonderful World of Print: Print-spirations!

  1. Jorie says:

    This is such a beautiful blog. Good luck at school. When you’re finally settled into your passion, the classes are so much better.

  2. luvvleighb says:

    I just love the old cameras!

What do you think?

